☰ Menu

Apply NOW for Settled and Pre-Settled Status

The UK is set to leave the European Union EU. The Uk's exit from the EU, "Brexit" will mean that European (EU, EEA and Swiss) nationals living in the UK will need to make an application to the Home Office to continue their residence in the UK under EU Settlement Scheme.

Successful applicants will either be given Settled (Indefinite Leave to Enter/Remain) or Pre-Settled Status (Limited Leave to Enter/Remain). EU citizens and their family members with either status will have the same access as they currently do to public services such as healthcare and schools, public funds and pensions.

What is Settled Status?

EEA/Swiss nationals will be expected to make an application for Settled Status where they have lived in the UK for five years or more, have not spent over six months overseas in any 12 month period and do not have a serious criminal record. It is significant that, in order to obtain Settled Status, the Home Office do not require applicants to demonstrate that they have been working, studying or are economically self-sufficient for five years to apply. Applications are only required to demonstrate that they have been resident in the UK for a continuous five-year period.

Settled Status is technically a grant of Indefinite Leave to Remain or Indefinite Leave to Enter.

What is Pre-settled status?

Those with under five years' residence will be able to apply for Pre-Settled Status before switching to Settled Status upon completion of five years of continuous residence in the UK.

Pre-Settled Status is a form of Limited Leave to Remain in the UK.

Every EEA National and dependant Family Members who want to remain in the UK after the Exit date will need to make an application under the Scheme to remain in the UK.

If you find the process difficult, Diversity Voice can help you to complete the application, and our support is free of charge. If you find the language difficult, we can offer support in all EU languages.

Settled and pre settled status poster 2

Click for Romanian version

Click for Hungarian version

Click for Italian version

Click for Polish version

Click for Portuguese version

Click for French version

Click for Bulgarian version

Click for Lithuanian version

Click for Spanish version